Consulting Pre-requisite

Dear Folks

I am a new member here having joined after being enthused by your discussions. I have a question here folks and I will be glad to hear from you as professionals. Do you really need to have experience in the area that you want to consult in to be successful? I graduated in 2006 with a Bachelor of Commerce Degree in Agriculture and in 2009 with a Masters Degree in Agribusiness Management and am hungry to start my own consulting venture in Agribusiness Management. I have experience in the Local Government Sector as Contracts Manager. I am a very good communicator with good presentation skills, highly motivated intelligent guy who knows exactly what I want, but this aspect of RELEVANT experience keeps popping up in my research and I have decided to share it with you guys.

I have tried applying for jobs in financial institutions as Assistant Agribusiness Manager/Finacial Officer, etc without success. The idea was to gain exposure in the Agri area and leverage on that to pursue my dream career. The primary industry has not been forthcoming either citing my lack of direct experience. I know my stuff guys and am planning to go consulting instead.

What is your opinion on this folks? I am based in Brisbane, Australia

Thanks

Bonafide,

Thanks for joining the Consulting Forum!

I understand that you are interested to get people's view on whether you need relevant experience in order to be successful as a consultant.

You are probably interested in your success short term and long term. Here are my preliminary thoughts:

Short term: If you join an established strategy consulting firm at an entry level then lack of relevant industry experience will not stop you from being successful. You can learn a lot on the job, and you are being paid for your ability to learn quickly and analyse business problems.